Home  /  Things To Do  /  Family Fun

Share Tweet

Farmers’ Bank of Rustico – Welcome Centre

Welcome to “DISCOVER RUSTICO” in the former St. Augustine’s Credit Union building. This new welcome centre is a branch of the Farmers Bank of Rustico & Doucet House Museums (located 1km up the road on Rte.243, beside St. Augustine’s Parish Church.)

Here we have a museum about the Credit Union Movement, information promoting the Acadian tourism product of our area and the other five Acadian regions on the Island, and a gift shop of local goods and products.

St. Augustine’s Credit Union was chartered in 1938 and operated until 1996. Through the 20th-century there were 72 community-based credit unions across the Island. This building was originally a small country store. After the Credit Union took over this building for a brief time in the mid 1940’s Amos Gallant’s store operated from here while his new store was rebuilt following a fire. Also, the Cymbria Lions Club held their meetings in the basement.

More Good Tidings Operators


Mon-Sat, 9:30am-5:30pm; Sun, 1-5pm.

Visit Website